Gluten Free · Low Cal · Recipes · vegan · Vegetarian

Homemade, Refined Sugar Free, Ketchup! 

This sugar detox stuff is HARD! Put aside the sugar-crazed-angry-monster that I may or may not have almost become, but simply eating foods that don’t contain hidden sugars and still taste delicious is a challenge in itself…and a depressing one at times too.

Today, I was ecstatic at the idea that I could enjoy bacon and eggs for lunch, completely guilt free because right now I’m concentrating on a sugar detox and fat is not the enemy! It’s little victories…you know? But I got a little disheartened when I realised no sugar meant no ketchup…I’d already come to terms with the lack of beans.

As you’ve probably come to realise by now, there’s not much I won’t attempt to make homemade in my kitchen, and ketchup certainly wasn’t about to beat me, so I got to hunting ketchup recipes I could corrupt in my own, special way…here’s what I came up with!

Be warned, folks…this ketchup is more tangy than sweet. It’s not going to be like your favourite-mentioning-no-name-brand because it doesn’t contain sugar, and to make it taste that sweet would mean adding some sort of refined sweetener that defeats the object of a sugar free ketchup…

FYI…STEVIA AND OTHER SWEETENERS ARE STILL SUGAR! The only sugars I am allowing myself are raw honey and fruit.

This tastes a little way between Tomato Ketchup and its fruity, British, Brown Sauce cousin… 


Ingredients

5floz Passata 

1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar

A good handful of fresh Basil (finely chopped)

3 tsp Raw Honey  (or your preferred type of Honey) 

1/2 tsp Garlic Powder

1/2 tsp All Spice/Mixed Spice

A pinch each of Salt, Pepper, and Turmeric


Method

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl.

Now, really it is that simple, and you can eat it straight away, but I found simmering it in a pan for about 10 minutes to thicken and sweeten really made all the difference!

Bottle or jar up, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

