Gluten Free · Low Cal · Recipes · Vegetarian

Veggie Egg Cups!

While trying to stay on this holistic, clean approach to eating, it’s proven difficult at times to find food of convenience and it’s all too easy to reach for the unhealthy option in the name of speed…I’m trying really hard to stick to what I know is best for me and my body, because boy do I feel it when I fall off the wagon! So, when I was looking for a healthy, eat on the go, breakfast recipe, I remembered that years ago I had created these little marvels…and they were delicious!

This batch makes approximately eight, and they will keep in the fridge for a few days, so double up and make enough for breakfasts all week! (I only made this many because I was running low on my mum’s happy hen’s eggs). Eight was supposed to last me at least a couple of days…the sad reality is that they may not survive until lunchtime…they’re just that good!

Veggie Egg Cups

Ingredients

3 Large Free Range Eggs

1 Tbsp Ricotta Cheese

2 Tbsp Grated Cheddar

Half Green Pepper

1 Small Onion

1 Garlic Clove

4 or 5 Cherry Tomatoes

Salt and Pepper

Tsp Basil

Tsp Oregano

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees C/375 degrees f and grease the cups of a muffin pan thoroughly (I used muffin cases which proved nightmarish to get the things out of, but I thought I was being clever…not so much!)

In a bowl, whisk the eggs together with the Ricotta and Cheddar.

Chop the Onions, Pepper, Tomatoes and crush the Garlic, or blitz the whole lot together in a processor to get a finer mix, then add to the egg and cheese mix.

Add salt, pepper, basil, and oregano and give it a last good mix.

Using a tablespoon, spoon the mixture into your greased muffin pan, sprinkle a little grated cheddar on top if you choose, and pop in the oven for 30-35 minutes.

Enjoy!

wp-1488540220688

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

