Gluten Free · Low Cal · Recipes · Vegetarian

Cabbage Stir Fry

My household has a weird fixation with cabbage…Seriously…Mine is the only house to my knowledge that has witnessed a Sunday lunch battle for the last of the cabbage between three of the four small humans. It’s not unheard of to watch at least one of them devour almost an entire Savoy, simply chopped and steamed, and still ask for more…I don’t get it. Well, I do, I love cabbage, but I never did as a child.

Not that I’m complaining, cabbage is ridiculously good for you, and falls into the same health-conscious category as kale and broccoli, being packed with vitamins and nutrients, as well as fibre and minimal calories!

It’s a bit dull though, just steamed, so I’ve been on a mission to make a seriously delicious cabbage side dish, not realising I would stumble across a recipe that would make cabbage the star of the show, never mind a side order.

There are a few versions of this recipe floating around the interweb, and no doubt they are all amazing, but I had to make a few swaps for things I had in my cupboards, and the result was magic! I served this alongside some baked salmon an new potatoes, but this is so delicious I could easily just munch a bowl full of it on its own, which would make it a tasty vegan option!

Ingredients

1 small head of cabbage. The choice is yours, I used a Sweetheart Cabbage that I sliced up thinly

1 large Carrot, grated

3 or 4 Spring Onions, thinly sliced

A handful of Spinach, roughly chopped

A handful of cooked Peas

2 Garlic Cloves, crushed

2 thumb sized piece of Ginger, grated

2 tbsp. Soy Sauce

1 tbsp. Sesame Oil

1 tsp Sweet Chilli Sauce

A few drops of Tabasco Sauce

1/2 tsp Chinese Five Spice 

Method

In a jug or small bowl, mix the Soy Sauce, Sesame Oil, Sweet Chilli Sauce, Tabasco, and Chinese Five Spice together.

In a small wok or skillet, over a high heat, cook the Cabbage, Carrot, Spring Onions, Spinach, Peas,  Garlic and Ginger for a few minutes, until the cabbage starts to wilt.

Add the sauce mix to the wok an mix together for a minute or two.

Serve on its own, or as a side dish to something equally as yummy.

wp-1487175807114

 

Leave a Reply

