Recipes · Vegetarian

Leftover Veggie Puffs

It’s the weekend, and weekends for me always mean grocery shopping and a fridge clear out….I know, I know…I lead a rock star lifestyle…But in the process of doing this, I found a packet of puff pastry that was about to go beyond its ‘Use by’ date. While I don’t usually have anything ready-made in my fridge or cupboard, this had been on reserve over Christmas in case my mountain of food was not enough to feed my family and friends (turns out it was enough to feed a small army, but hey ho). I also found a few left over veggie stragglers that were past their best and as I’ve mentioned before, I hate waste. I couldn’t bare to throw the perfectly good food in the bin when I knew full well with a little imagination I could come up with something interesting. Turns out, I came up with something delicious that lasted literally five minutes in my house and now I have to write the recipe out so I can remember it for future reference.

So, without further ado, this is my new Leftover Veggie Puff recipe…The beauty of this one is that you can use anything the you have left over in the fridge. I had an over ripe aubergine (or egg plant for my American friends), a few mushrooms, a few cherry tomatoes, a couple of spring onions, a large chunk of cheese, but raid the fridge and use whatever you have, I’m sure it’ll turn out just as yummy!

wp-1485024132998

Ingredients

Ready made Jus-Roll Puff Pastry (or any puff pastry of your choosing…) NB – This is NOT Gluten Free

Half and Aubergine

A few Spring Onions

A few Cherry Tomatoes

A few small closed cup Mushrooms

Some Salt and Pepper

A tsp of Turmeric

A tsp of Garlic Salt

A tsp of dried Basil

Some grated Mature Cheddar

Method

Preheat the Oven to 200°C/390°F/Gas Mark 6

Spread out the Jus-Roll pastry and cut into shapes using a pastry cutter. Take a smaller pastry cutter of the same shape and make a small indentation in each one, similar to if you were making Vol-Au-Vent cases.

Chop all the veg and blitz in a food processor.

Mix the Garlic Salt, Turmeric, Basil, and Salt and Pepper, into the veggie mix and spoon into each pastry shape within the inner marking you made with the smaller cutter.

Top each one with some Mature Cheddar.

Brush the edges with some milk or beaten egg (optional)

Place in the oven for about 15 minutes, or until the edges of the pastry are golden brown.

Enjoy!

wp-1485024136131

Leave a Reply

