Recipes

Healthy Carrot Cake Muffins

Well…healthier Carrot Cake Muffins…it’s hard to say any cake is really healthy, but these at least try their damndest to be the healthiest they can, and the great thing about this recipe is that it’s pretty much customisable to be as healthy or as naughty as you’d like.

In my quest to recover from the Christmas binge and shift the extra few pounds (stone) I gained over the festive season (year and a half), I’m back on the clean wagon and hitting my detox hard with juices, smoothies, and my new borderline vegetarian diet. Last year when I was juicing, I kept throwing away the pulp, much to my dismay, because I couldn’t find the time or inspiration to turn it into something yummy. I hate waste! My freezer is full of the dregs of gravies and stews that will find a home in something else one day. So, today when I had a morning juice (orange, apple, carrot, spinach, and aloe vera gel…which is another story!), I made it my mission to use the pulp leftover and I couldn’t help but wonder if it might make a half decent carrot cake mix.

After some time searching pinterest, I came up with what I thought might actually work as a relatively healthy muffin recipe that uses up the yummy pulp that would otherwise end up in the bin.

The beauty of these little muffins is that the kids absolutely love them! The smallest human even asked if he could have not one, but two, in his packed lunch tomorrow instead of his usual little chocolate bar…Score! Just don’t mention to them that the tiny green bits are spinach 😉

There are a few ways you can customise this recipe to make it your own; I use spelt flour, because it’s wheat free (not gluten free), and it’s a yummy alternative to gluten free flour, but of course you could use any flour. Plain white flour or gluten free bread flour would work just as well.

I also use a combination of 100g of light brown sugar with three tablespoons of maple syrup, but you could choose to use 200g of light brown sugar for a sweeter taste/higher sugar version, or cut the sugar out all together and use six tablespoons of maple syrup or agave, or another natural sugar alternative to make it almost sugar free. It shouldn’t effect the sweetness of the muffins too much since the fruit and orange juice contribute as well.

Ok, so here it is, a healthy, low sugar, high fibre, wheat free, juice pulp, carrot cake muffin recipe….phew.

wp-1483643863833

Ingredients

250g Whole grain Spelt Flour

1/2 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda

2 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Ground Cinnamon

1 tsp Ground Mixed Spice

1 pinch of Salt

100g Light Brown Sugar

200ml Sunflower or Rapeseed Oil

3 tbsp. organic Maple Syrup

3 large Free Range Eggs

Juice Pulp (I used the pulp of 2 oranges, 2 apples, 2 carrots, and a handful of spinach…I’m not sure exactly how much that was in grams…let’s estimate 200g)

2tbsp. Fresh Orange Juice (you could use the juice itself, but we drank all that, so I used some I had in the fridge.

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F/Gas Mark 4

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, salt, cinnamon, and mixed spice in a bowl.

Add the syrup, eggs, and oil and mix with an electric mixer until you get a thick batter.

Fold in the juice pulp and orange juice.

Spoon into muffin cases and bake in the centre of the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until the muffins are golden brown and springy to touch.

That’s it! Healthy, yummy, Carrot Cake Muffins! Enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Healthy Carrot Cake Muffins

Leave a Reply

