Gluten Free · Recipes · Vegetarian

Roasted Sweet Potato Bake with Halloumi

Oh my goodness! This….THIS….is the most amazingly delicious thing EVER!

I’m a little bit excited about this, possibly because I created it out of desperation and a severely lacking fridge, but also because I’m eating less and less meat and looking for more and more vegetarian recipes that are tasty and filling.

I had halloumi, and I had sweet potatoes…I fancied something rich and tomatoey, and I didn’t have long to make or prepare something. I decided to throw a whole lot of stuff together and hope for the best…I was NOT disappointed, so I wanted to share…because I’m generous like that!

Give this a try and let me know what you think. It’s definitely going on my ‘staple meals’ list.

Ingredients

1 whole Sweet Potato

1 Red Onion

1/2 Red Pepper

A couple of mushrooms (entirely your preference, I’m not the biggest fan, but I had a few and wanted to pack this meal out)

A handful of Spinach

1 Garlic Clove

1 Box of Chopped Tomatoes (or a tin)

3 or 4 slices of Halloumi (about 1cm thick)

1 tbsp. Italian Seasoning

1 tbsp. grated Parmesan (optional)

 

Method

Preheat the oven to around 200°C/390°F/Gas Mark 6.

Chop the Sweet Potato into small cubes and drizzle with an oil of your choice (we use rapeseed oil or olive oil, but coconut oil is a good, healthy alternative), spread on a baking tray and pop in the oven for about 25 minutes to half and hour.

While the potato is roasting, chop the onion, red pepper, and mushroom, and crush the garlic. Cook together in a small pan on the hob until the onion is soft.

Add the Italian Seasoning and Spinach, and stir together before adding the Chopped Tomatoes and let simmer until the potato is roasted (soft in the middle and crispy on the edges.

Place the roasted Sweet Potato in a small casserole dish and top with the Parmesan, top that with the Tomato and veg mix, and lay the Halloumi slices over the whole lot.

Place under the grill for a few minutes until the Halloumi starts to bubble and brown slightly.

Serve and enjoy!

wp-1483390892484

 

Leave a Reply

