Gluten Free · Recipes

Gluten Free Goodness!

This week I have been unnaturally motivated, I have a suspicion as to why, but I’ll get to that in another blog post soon. I have been non-stop baking and making and have enjoyed every minute of it, while thoroughly enjoying watching people enjoy my food…Which sounds kind of weird, but I promise it isn’t. I just love cooking for people and think the biggest joy of cooking is cooking for others and sharing my recipes…Hence this blog.

But anyway, today I am full of cold (thanks to my smallest small human for sharing his lurgy) so while I sip port (for medicinal purposes) in front of the fire, I decided I needed to share a couple of the recipes I have been cooking up this week.

It’s soooo difficult to find good gluten free food. I know it’s getting better all the time, and there is certainly a lot more choice in supermarkets today than there was when I went gluten free four years ago, but if you have tried sticking to a gluten free diet for any length of time, you’ll know for sure that somethings just don’t come up to scratch.

I’m going to share with you two staples that you must make from scratch if you want to genuinely enjoy the gluten free versions like their gluten-filled-delicious alternatives; gluten free pastry, and gluten free pasta (scroll down to the bottom for that recipe). Both use the one gluten free ingredient I always have in my cupboard, and after many years of experimenting, can safely say is my absolute favourite…

Dove’s Farm Gluten Free Bread Flour

No, I am not in any way affiliated with Dove’s Farm, I just love their products, and this one in particular.

So, both these recipes can be found on their site, which I highly recommend you visit for recipes and products alike, this company really know their stuff when it comes to gluten free, and they have so many lovely commenters giving additional advice that it’s always worth visiting here before you try any other recipe.

But anyway, to begin at the beginning, and give you a truly fantastic gluten free recipe that I guarantee would pass for its gluten filled version…

Shortcrust Pastry

This week I’ve made mince pies and sausage rolls. All have been devoured and requested again asap. Here is the simplest, and most fool proof recipe you will possibly find.

Ingredients

200g Dove’s Farm Gluten Free Bread Flour

100g Butter

4 Tbsp Cold Water

1 Large Free Range Egg

Method

In a mixing bowl, mix the flour and butter with your fingers to make breadcrumbs.

Add the cold water and using the pastry dough attachments on your mixer (or by hand if you don’t have a mixer) bring it altogether in a cloggy mess.

Add the egg and continue to mix until the whole lot comes together as one lump of sticky mess, then with floured hands take the whole thing and knead quickly but briefly until the dough becomes smooth and pliable.

Wrap tightly in cling film and chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, then use as you would normal pastry for sausage rolls or mince pies, or anything else that takes your fancy (it’s really good for quiche!)

But wait! I promised you two gluten free staple recipes! So before you disappear to make your pastry, you might want to try this…

Homemade Pasta

Yes! Pasta! Trust me…it’s amazeballs! If you don’t have a pasta machine, go and buy one now! I promise, it will be worth every penny (you can get one for under £20 on Amazon).

When you have your beautiful new pasta machine, or have dug yours out of the back of the cupboard, it’s time to make the best damn gluten free pasta you’ve ever eaten.

Seriously, this stuff will make you happily say goodbye to all gluten free, dry alternatives.

Ingredients

225g Dove’s Farm Gluten Free Bread Flour

3 Large Free Range Eggs

Method

On a clean worktop, tip out your flour into a heap and make a well in the middle (make sure your well is big enough…the first time I did this I misjudged and tipped beaten eggs all over my kitchen top…

Beat the eggs together in a jug and pout into the (adequately sized) well in the flour.

Using a fork and a spoon, carefully fold the flour into the eggs over and over until it becomes a crumbly dough.

Knead the whole thing together until the mixture is smooth, wrap tightly in cling film and chill in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

The mixture itself may seem quite dry, but don’t be tempted to add any liquid like water or oil, just trust the process.

When you are ready to make your pasta, sprinkle some flour into your pasta machine, separate the dough into about 6 smaller pieces and gradually feed each piece into the machine on your desired setting.

Once you’ve used all the pasta (this amount will serve two people fairly generously, so double up if you’re feeding the family), put the lot into a pan of boiling water with a good sprinkling of salt, and boil for 5 to 8 minutes.

Serve with a sauce of your choice…we had Spaghetti Bolognese and it was the most delicious spag bol ever!

 

 

 

One thought on “Gluten Free Goodness!

Leave a Reply

