Recipes

Egg on Toast with a Detox Twist

Morning!

Continuing with my detox theme, I’m going to share with you what I had for breakfast this morning…and yesterday…and probably will have tomorrow as well because it’s damn delicious!

This is healthy egg on toast…Yup, you heard me…And it’s better than those low-fat, trying-to-be-healthy-but-just-cutting-out-the-yummy-stuff recipes that lots of other people use, this one is actually health boosting…I know!! Unbelievable, right? Nope…and here’s why;

The spelt bread in this recipe is homemade, so no nasty processed additives (which is a bit of a thing for me, but I’m sure I’ll write about that another time and will definitely post my spelt bread recipe), it’s also higher in protein than regular bread and lower in calories. It’s also a great bread to eat for me since I’m wheat intolerant. It’s not gluten free though, so coeliacs will still need to opt for an alternative.

The eggs I use are from my mum’s hens…So, free range and unprocessed. If I absolutely have to use bought eggs, I’ll opt for local free range; but anyway, in this recipe I fry a single egg in a teaspoon of coconut oil. I’m sure I don’t need to go into all the many health benefits of coconut oil since it has become so popular of late, but in brief, coconut oil is a fantastic source of healthy fats. It helps with digestion, it helps with good gut bacteria, it supports your immune system, and it doesn’t break down as quickly at high temperatures like other oils, which cause nasty carcinogenics when they start to smoke.

Between the egg and the bread is a layer of wilted spinach, because we all remember Popeye (well, some of us do) and spinach is one of the most amazing sources of vitamins and minerals, such as vitamin A, vitamin K, vitamin C, Folic Acid, Manganese,  magnesium, vitamin B2, and Iron. Notice I said wilted spinach here…The trick is to flash fry it with the egg about 30 seconds before the egg is ready, otherwise you just cook the bejeezus out of it and loose all its nutritional value.

And the health boosting pièce de résistance of this particular dish…the turmeric! Honestly, go and google the health benefits of turmeric! It is being billed everywhere as possibly the most effective nutritional health supplement that exists naturally. It has been linked to cancer fighting, and numerous studies have proven its medicinal benefits. I, for one, try to use turmeric in as much of my cooking as I possibly can. It has a kind of sweet curry taste to it, but it’s subtle, so when you use it sparingly it can complement most dishes. With this health boosting egg on toast, it actually provides the perfect amount of flavour to the eggs and spinach to make it deliciously moreish, but not overpowering.

So there you have it…Egg on Toast with a Detox Twist!

In case you didn’t follow my rambling, or just want to skip to the step by step, here they are;

Ingredients

1 thick cut slice of homemade spelt bread (or healthy bread of your choice)

1 free range egg

1 handful of spinach

1 tbsp. of coconut oil

1/2 tsp turmeric

Pinch on Himalayan salt

Method

In a frying pan, melt the coconut oil before adding your egg.

A few seconds before the egg has finished cooking, add the spinach to the same pan and sprinkle with the turmeric. Use as much or as little as you’d like.

Mix the turmeric in with the now wilted spinach and pop on top of your bread slice, top that with the perfectly fried egg and sprinkle with a pinch of Himalayan salt (known for its health boosting minerals)

That’s it!

Enjoy!

20161108_090825.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

