Recipes

Detox Soup!

I’m having one of those pre-Christmas-weight-loss panics and I’ve realised that my diet and lifestyle has been particularly unclean for a little while now…Probably has an awful lot to do with my low mood, lack of motivation, and general meh-ish-ness. So, I decided enough was enough! No more laziness! No more junk food and comfort eating!
My first stop is (and always has been) Pinterest for some healthy, family friendly meal ideas, and my search lead me to some low fat, detox soup recipes that looked yummy! Soup is perfect at this time of year. You really can’t beat a bowl of steaming hot, homemade soup.

While I was browsing through the recipes it occurred to me that I could pretty easily make my own version of any of the ones I was clicking on, so I did…I have to say, the result was amazing…even if I do say so myself!

So, here it is…my delicious, healthy, zero-fat, vegan, detox soup…I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

1 Onion (chopped)

2 Garlic Cloves (crushed or chopped)

3 Carrots (peeled and chopped, unless they’re organic, in which case just chopped is fine)

1 Red Pepper (chopped)

1 Butternut Squash (chopped)

100g of Red Split lentils (cooked)

100g of Green lentils (cooked)

3 good sized handfuls of fresh Spinach

2 pints of Vegetable Stock

1 box of Chopped Tomatoes (or 1 tin, or about 450g)

1 tsp. Turmeric

1 tbsp. Italian Seasoning

1 tbsp. Coconut Oil (or any healthy oil of your choice, such as Rapeseed or Olive)

Salt and Pepper

Method

In a large pan, melt the Coconut Oil and add the Onion and Garlic, cooking until soft.

Add the Red Pepper, Carrots, Butternut Squash, and Turmeric; mix together well before adding the Vegetable Stock, Chopped Tomatoes, Italian Seasoning, Salt and Pepper to taste, and all the Lentils, and bring to the boil.

Simmer for about 15 minutes, before adding the Spinach, and continue to simmer for another 5-10 minutes.

I like my soup quite thick and chunky, so I took half the veggies out at this stage and whizzed them in the blender before putting them back and stirring them in to make the whole batch extra thick, but you can either eat is as it is, or blend the whole the lot! The choice is yours…

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

